Magic Windows

Image

Garza, C.  L.  (1999).  Magic windows.  San Francisco, CA:  Children’s Book Press.

Magic Windows are gorgeous images that the author paints to illustrate her life growing up in the Rio Grande Valley. The book is biligual and allows the reader to feel as if they know her.

I would use this book to teach making connections. I would read pages and model how to connect to a book. In this case, I would tell my students that I connect to almost everything in the book because I also grew up in the Rio Grande Valley. I would then have them make their own connection to the story. (ELA TEK Fig 19. (F) make connections to own experiences, to ideas in other texts, and to the larger community and discuss textual evidence.)

Leave a Reply

