Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

 

aristotle

Saenz, B. (2012). Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe. New York, NY: Simon and Schuster.

Omg ya’ll, so I recently finished Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Saenz, and I FREAKING LOVED IT! I seriously could not put it down. I started it on a Monday and finished it on the following Tuesday night. It was a beautiful  story of friendship, internal struggle, and self-growth. Omg I cannot get enough of it, like now I want to go to UT-Eagle Pass just to meet Mr. Seanz because I loved it so much and read that he is a professor of creative writing there.  I fell in love with both characters within the first few chapters and feel like they are two that I will never forget. So yea, you should definitely check it out.

Basically, it’s about two boys (Ari and Dante) who come together one summer at a swimming pool, Ari is very quiet and antisocial, while Dante is loud, outgoing, and loves talking. Ari secretly resents his family for keeping secrets about his brother and Dante adores his parents. Ari defends Dante when he gets picked on and even saves him from near-death! Two completely different boys grow as best friends even while Dante moves to another state and writes to Ari almost weekly until he moves back and the boys pick up where they started.

Ok, so my summary is kinda lame, but just go read it! I promise you won’t regret it. Keep in mind that I think that this book is definitely NOT for a younger crowd, probably no younger than juniors or seniors in high school depending on maturity level. If you’re easily offended by vulgarity, offensive language, or sexuality, then don’t read it, but you’ll be missing out!

Saenz, B. (2012) Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe. NY: Simon & Schuster.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

