The Knife of Never Letting Go.

Ness, P. (2008). The knife of never letting go. Boston, MA: Candlewick Press

knife

Ok, let me start by saying that I HATED this book the entire way through. From discovering that Todd is being lied to by “Prentisstown,” his home, to running away with Todd as he tries to save himself and his new friend, Viola,(a completely platonic relationship based on the pair’s need for each other in order to survive.) who has no Noise. Noise is a germ that all of the men have that makes them able to hear their thoughts, everyone and everyone’s thoughts-except women. I spent an entire Friday night finishing the last quarter of the story where Todd and Viola are running from the Army and Manchee (Todd’s dog) was killed (where I bawled like a baby) bawling my eyes out over the horrible ending of Todd carrying a dying Viola in her arms into Haven, the town that was supposed to save them, which has been taken over by the man who was after them the entire time. It was so FRUSTRATING! Now, as a future librarian, I am not one for violence against books, but I wanted and still want to stab this book! I hated the ending! It was not fair! Todd and Viola lost so much along the way and fought so much only to be forsaken. The entire time i was reading I swore that I was not going to read the rest of the series, but now (after I finish reading the rest of the books for this class) I am going to have to. C’est la Vie. I would follow this book with a prediction lesson in a classroom and have students write what they think is going to happen since it has such a great cliff hanger. I would also only recommend it to upper high students because of the horrible spelling and primary confusion in the beginning of the story, also for the violence.

 

(I know these posts are supposed to be shorter, but I couldn’t help it.)

Leave a Reply

