Deadline

Crutcher, C. (2007). Deadline. New York, NY: HarperCollins.

deadline

Ben Wolf is my hero. No joke, his story of growing up and impacting the world around him made my bawl like a baby from the beginning to the end. It starts with him being diagnosed with some kind of reseilient, aggressive, and terminal illness that he wants to do absolutely nothing about. Maybe one of my favorite quotes from the books is when he says “…I’m not going out bald or puking. I don’t have anything to teach anyone about life, and I’m not brace, but I’d rather be a flash than a slowly cooling ember, so I’ll eat healthy food, gobble supplements, sleep good, and take what the universe gives me” (Crutcher, 10). I know what he’s doing is stupid to some people, but I love Ben for his bravery and honesty. He goes out for football, excels, and even gets to date his crush, Dallas. He learns that he is not the only person struggling with something bigger than they are and impacts everyone around him. This book is perfect. For anyone. But especially for eighth-tenth graders, who think that their world is constantly falling apart, and for anyone who has lost someone near to them. I would read it with The fault in our stars and discuss bravery in both situations and how characters impact those around them without knowing it.

Leave a Reply

